First Year, First Blog, First Post

For my entire life, I knew I loved LOTS of different things. I enjoyed children, grown-ups, communicating, dancing, having fun and everything in between. When it came time to decide what I wanted to do for the rest of my life, I was completely lost. I started my collegiate journey at University of Missouri as a Photo Journalism major for god only knows what reason. Mizzou was not the best fit for me, considering I am not a college town kind of gal. My sophomore year of college I transferred back home to DePaul and that’s where my journey into education sort of began. In the course of a year and a half I changed my major from Sociology to PR to Non-Profit Business Management, Nutrition and then back to undecided. I was at a loss and thought that if I transferred schools again that I might find the answer. That was far from the case.

Most teachers that I have spoken to, become friends with or shared experiences with have all said that they’ve known they wanted to be a teacher since they were a little girl. Unfortunately, I don’t share that same experience. I always tell people that the teaching profession chose me. It wasn’t until my Junior year of college, during my first clinical experience, with the most incredible teacher I’ve ever met, that I decided teaching was the way for me to go. I haven’t looked back since.

 Instead I took off and chose to immerse myself in all things education and even incorporated my love of dance with my love of education by creating my own Non-Profit, Chance to Dance.

I’m creating this blog in the hopes of creating a space for all first year teachers to communicate and share our success, our sorrow, our laughs and our tears to collaborate and to grow together. When I was first starting out I wanted a place to go to, to hear real life stories of what to expect and what to prepare for. I hope to be that place for future educators going through the same things.

Here’s to our first year together, changing lives, and changing ourselves.

Let’s educate, learn and grow together.

My 5th Grade

The 5th Grade “Brainstormers”.

Leave a Reply

