“The More I Learn, the Less I Know”

It has been exactly 5 months since I began my life as a teacher. 5 months of constant planning, preparing, failing, falling and growing. 5 months of wonder, enjoyment, happy tears and countless memories with my first class of “Brainstormers.” It’s been an incredible ride. Yet here I sit, blogging and reflecting on my journey and this thought keeps popping in my head “the more I learn, the less I know.”

Now of course, I don’t mean this literally. I can in fact acquire and maintain knowledge and take that knowledge and turn it into some kind of product, which may prove that I have some intelligent life in my brain. What I figuratively mean by “the more I learn, the less I know” is that I have come to the conclusion that I am on an endless journey of constant betterment of self. I have no destination, no final product, just growth and perseverance.

I attended the CARA Conference over the weekend with Keynote speakers and authors Kristin Ziemke and Katie Muhartis who talk about how technology can amplify your classroom. Both Kristin and Katie were incredibly eloquent, knowledgable and down to earth speakers. They shared many insights into how technology can amplify your classroom. One of the best things that they said during the entire conference was that the best practices with technology start with their “why”. The teachers who utilize technology to the highest degree aren’t thinking about what app is the best app to teach letter sounds, their thinking about the lesson and standard they need to teach and find a way to enhance that learning with technology.

CZdFiQ8UMAA9uKW

A favorite and final quote from the Amplify conference on Saturday 1/23/16. 

What stuck with me the most though, was that, Katie, while speaking, stated that there are still days where she feels like a failure. After all of these years as a teacher, with published books on how to become a better teacher, she still feels like a failure. It was so refreshing to hear that even unbelievably talented professionals have their days.

As a first year teacher I am constantly fighting with my inner voice questioning every day if what I am doing is “right” or “good enough”. The more I learn from others, the more ideas I receive, and the more ideas I am blessed with, the more I realize how much I truly have to learn and how much I genuinely do not know. It’s as though with every click of a link on Twitter, every search of a blog post or idea on Pinterest, there is always more to find, discover and learn about. It never, EVER ends. Hence the no destination journey I am on as an educator. I have such a passion to continue to know NOTHING and fill my brain with as much knowledge as possible. I feel so lucky to be connected with so many incredible educators who push me everyday and show me that learning never stops, it’s a never ending journey.

“The more I learn, the less I know, but the more I learn, the more I grow”, a mantra I hope all of my “marigolds” and kiddos believe for themselves.

url

 

6 thoughts on ““The More I Learn, the Less I Know”

  1. Kim Palmisano says:

    “I have such a passion to continue to know NOTHING and fill my brain with as much knowledge as possible.” Love this, and everything you wrote. I totally agree with you. It is SO true! This is my 4th year teaching, and I still feel like every day I learn something to better myself and my teaching. Every day I ask myself what can I do better tomorrow? It is one of the best things about our profession! You are doing such a great job, and am lucky to be able to work with you. Thanks for being a marigold in my life, as well as others! 🙂

    Like

    • Miss G. Does 5th says:

      Kim, Thank you so much for your kind words. I love being able to chat with you about our struggles and successes. You’re so right when you say that is one of the best things about our profession! So rewarding and always keeps your brain moving. Thanks for being a marigold in my life! So lucky to know you, work with you and call you a friend.

      Like

  2. Jenny Lehotsky says:

    It’s funny you write this because as I was doing dishes tonight I was thinking “When will I know I’ve made it, done enough? When will I think I’ve reached the top?” And I realized as soon I think I’ve reached it, that only means I’ve stopped climbing. In the end, I just hope to leave a mark.
    Typically, a teacher’s first year is the worst year. So many people are just in awe of what you have done in 5 months of teachers. You truly “get it.” I can’t imagine where you are going to take kids from here!

    This quote keeps me on the track – “Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better.”- Maya Angelou

    You are doing the BEST and you will only get better. Thank you for all your inspiration!

    Like

    • Miss G. Does 5th says:

      Jenny, I loved when you said “that means I’ve stopped climbing”. You’re so right, that you never want to reach the top of anything, especially in teaching, you constantly want to keep pushing yourself. I also love the quote you shared by Maya Angelou. It’s one I will keep near and dear to me. Thank you for being such an inspiration and such a passionate, wonderful person to work with. I feel so blessed that our paths crossed! I have so much to learn from you and cannot wait to watch it unfold!

      Like

  3. Michelle Brezek (@BigTimeLiteracy) says:

    Such a fab post! I think the key here is reflection – reflective teachers (you – blogging in year one!) are constantly challenging themselves and always growing, growing! Reflective teachers always want to know more, want to do it better, want another chance to start – which is another amazing thing about our careers, we always get to start fresh each year. Every year I think to myself, “Ok, next year I want to do __ better.”

    I’m so glad you’re blogging (what I would give for blog posts during my first year!) and that you’re sharing your insights with all of us and we are learning together virtually!

    Like

Leave a Reply

