Reflective Blog Post #4

At the start of this course, I felt fairly confident integrating technology into my classroom through the use of 1:1 Macbooks. However, not so confident integrating technology using 1:1 iPads. This is because, last year, in my classroom, all of my students had computers and we recently transitioned over to iPads. Through this course, I have learned a great deal about new apps to utilize, new techniques to try as well as classroom management tips to focus on and try. I’ve definitely tried some of the new techniques in my classroom such as movie trailers. In the future, I would like to be able to utilize app smashing with a bit more significance and substance in my class. With the help of my PLN and my colleagues in this class, I feel that I will be able to do that with fidelity. In addition to that, I’d love to be able to share more of what is happening in my classroom to stakeholders as well as parents of students in my classroom. To do this, I plan to do some Google Hangouts on Air or Periscoping some of our classroom activities to bring more parents into the classroom. In doing this, I hope to break down the four walls of my classroom even further so that my students can benefit from real-world connections. These connections and skills are extremely beneficial to all parties involved and will help students develop empathy for others in our world and see beyond themselves.

 

Leave a Reply

